Raina's Cockatiels

Show navigation
Home Cockatiel Care Blog FAQ
birds
birds
birds

Blog

My life:

My name is Raina and I'm 17 this year. I had my first cockatiel when i was about 7 years old and ever since then, i've fallen in love with the species. During the past 10 years, i have learned and discovered many new things about cockatiels! So i'm extremely excited to share my thoughts with all of you!

me when i was 8 years old
Featuring me when i was 8 years old

Childhood

My childhood was practically filled with birds. Since my parents were animal lovers, there wasn't a single day when there's not an animal in the house. I was pretty scared when my father brought home the first cockatiel, Dolly. I did not like the idea of a flying creature in the house since...well, they fly. However, as soon as Dolly was placed on my shoulder, i immediately fell in love with cockatiels! This made me interested in ornithology at a young age.

Cockatiel Training

As the main caretaker of my birds, i took it upon myself to train them. I was inspired from YouTube videos to teach my cockatiels neat tricks. I discovered that they were easy to tame as long as you spend quality time with them.

connect4
Chirpy learning to play connect four

Breeding cockatiels

My cockatiel pair breeds at least twice a year. That means i've seen many eggs and chicks! It's super cool witnessing chicks hatching and the parents feeding them!

growth.jpg
Growing stages within a month

Coping with loss

Of course, unfortunate incidents do happen. I tend to grief for a few days after the death of my cockatiel. It's definitely not easy, but i've moved on plenty of times. It's probably because i know that i still need to take care of my remaining birds. That's my motivation!

There was this one time my cockatiel flew away and i had to paste posters throughout the entire neighbourhood. Even though i never saw it again, i like to imagine that it's probably enojoying life right now!

dolly